#ASCAtop12 ranks top baristas in Australia


The Australian Specialty Coffee Association (ASCA) has ranked Tilly Sproule of Tim Adams Specialty Coffee the top barista in Australia according to its #ASCAtop12 list.

The announcement was made on 29 November following the completion of all regional competitions, and a comparison of scores across the country.

ASCA announced Yanina Ferreyra of Project Origin as the top ranked brewer, Zhao Ting Wu of Cote Terra Coffee as the highest ranked latte artist, and Fred Lullfitz as the top placed cup taster.

The #ASCATop12 is a ranking system that seeds Australian competitors. Due to increasing volume of competitors in each category, the seeding will help decide who gets the precious twelve spots in the open heats at the 2018 Australian Coffee Championship, taking place at the Melbourne International Coffee Expo from 7 to 9 February.

All Regional winners go straight through to the respective semi-final or final of their disciplines.

Those named in the top 12 and not regional winners have gained automatic entry into the open round in their respective competition category.

The ASCA top 12 rankings are:

Australian Baristas:

  1. Tilly Sproule
  2. Jack Simpson
  3. Angus Mackie
  4. Hugh Kelly
  5. Anthony Douglas
  6. Matt Lewin
  7. Kirk Pearson
  8. Todd Souter
  9. Matthew Philben
  10. Joshua Robertson
  11. Callum Jubb
  12. Ziggy Varamulia

Also going through to Open Heats: Rhys Woods, Ramy Keshet, Joao Carlos, andAlex Murfet.


Australia’s top ranked brewer Yanina Ferreyra.

Australian Brewers Cup:

  1. Yanina Ferreyra
  2. Harry Ko
  3. Jamie Thompson
  4. Devin Loong
  5. Yechan Kim
  6. Chanho Hong
  7. Ju Yeob Lee
  8. Michael Wells
  9. David Train
  10. Ning Chi Cheng
  11. Shen Choy Ong
  12. Mark Knapp

Also going through to Open Heats: Simon Jaramillo, Jack Henderson, and Ben Cheong.

ASCA 2019 Northern Region Brewers Cup Champion Alex Borg will head straight to the Semi-Finals.


Australia’s top latte artist Zhao Ting Wu.

Australian Latte Artists:

  1. Zhao Ting Wu
  2. Jibbi Little
  3. Alice Park
  4. Phattra Phithakphon
  5. Li Tao
  6. Ha Ram Gang
  7. Quoc Vuong Do
  8. Dusit Moo
  9. Victor Vu
  10. Timothy Song
  11. Louis Cheung
  12. Junnie Phyu

Also going through to Open Heats: Kyujong Han, Yang Li, and Youngjune Kim.

ASCA 2019 Western Region Latte Art Champion Andy Tseng will head straight to the Semi-Finals.


Australia’s top cup taster Fred Lullfitz.

Australian Cup Tasters:

  1. Fred Lullfitz
  2. Juwon Jung
  3. Matthew Smithies
  4. Ru Teow
  5. Nuno Park
  6. J. Kim
  7. Poyun Cheng
  8. Chanjoo Kim
  9. Callum Jubb
  10. Alicia Feng
  11. Frankie Shi
  12. Yuki Saito

Also going through to Open Heats: Ryan Yoon, Jolie, Kamin Sumi, Tan Guan Leong and Ramy Keshet.

Congratulations to the #ASCATop12. All competitors will be notified by email, where full registration details will be communicated.

For more information, visit australianspecialtycoffee.com.au

Send this to a friend