Danes Specialty Coffee to livestream IGLAC

Danes Specialty Coffee is ready to crown the 2016 International Grand Latte Art Champion.

The fast, intense, fun and spectator-friendly latte art competition is taking place on 19 August. But if you can’t make it to Chatswood, New South Wales for the event, don’t worry. Read more

Ben Morrow wins Genovese Coffee MIFF Latte Art Smackdown

Melbourne’s The Forum theatre is usually home to live music acts, but on 11 August the space was transformed into a competition hub where Melbourne’s top latte artists united to compete in the Genovese Coffee Latte Art Smackdown in collaboration with the Melbourne International Film Festival (MIFF). Read more

SCAA members vote in favour of unification

Members of the Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAE) have paved the way for unification with the Specialty Coffee Association of Europe (SCAE), with 62 per cent voting in favour of the proposed move.

The vote comes after a majority of SCAE members endorsed the proposal in their own ballot in May. Voting for SCAA members closed on 5 August, with 56 per cent of members making their vote count, while 44 per cent didn’t. Read more

Dolo to host Industry Showcase event

Dolo will host an Industry Showcase event on Thursday 15 September.

Following day four of the Fine Food Australia trade expo from 6pm – 10pm, guests are invited to attend Dolo HQ (428 Johnston Street) in Abbotsford, Victoria for an evening of education and knowledge sharing. Read more

ASCA awards 10 travel scholarships

The Australian Specialty Coffee Association (ASCA) has awarded 10 scholarships to competitors travelling interstate for the 2017 championship season.

ASCA introduced the scholarship program in 2015, when it decided to hold four regional competitions nationally, instead of one in every state. The scholarships are open to competitors and judges who are interested in taking part in a competition, but no longer have one in their state.

“The scholarship program is a way to ensure that the rewards of ASCA competitions continue to be enjoyed from around Australia,” said Brent Williams, ASCA President. “A bonus has been connecting coffee professionals between states, helping further grow the industry.”

The following scholarship recipients are:

Callum Hare, The Coffee Collective

Adam Metelmann, Pullman Espresso Accessories

Alexander Loft, Bonobo Espresso (open

Cam Ballard, Coffee World

Celeste Dixon, Bar 9 Coffee

Georgina Lumb, Patio Coffee Roasters

Harsh Mehta, Coffylosophy

Hyemi Li, Bar9 Central

Lauren Crago, Crack Kitchen

Peter Giannakis, HG Coffee School

For more information visit www.aasca.com