Eat Drink Design Awards announces 2018 shortlist

Eat Drink Design Awards

The 2018 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist has been announced.

The shortlisted projects represent the most sought-after cafés, restaurants, bars, nightclubs, food stores and temporary hospitality spaces that opened to the public in the past two years.

“This year, there is a consensus among the jury that Australasian hospitality design is some of the best in the world, if not the best. Other countries are certainly looking to what Australia is doing in hospitality design and this shortlist is evidence of how dynamic and progressive Australia and New Zealand designers are,” says Cassie Hansen, Eat Drink Design Awards Jury Chairperson.

Other 2018 jurors include Simon Kardachi, Restaurateur of brands including Osteria Oggi, Shobosho, Press Food & Wine, The Pot by Emma McCaskell; George Livissianis, Architect and Founder of George Livissianis; Fabio Ongarato, Founder and Creative Director of Fabio Ongarato Design; and Dani Valent, food writer and cook.

Best Café Design nominees include:
Percy Plunkett – Matt Woods Design (Penrith, NSW)
Matinee Coffee – Luchetti Krelle (Marrickville, NSW)
Toby’s Estate Darling Square – Studio Tate (Sydney, NSW)
Indigo – Tom Mark Henry (Double Bay, NSW)
Edition Roasters – Amber Road (Haymarket, NSW)
The Post Office – Andrew and Brielle Economos (Moss Vale, NSW)
Lenny 3206 – Golden (Albert Park, VIC)
Against the Grind – Joanne Motee (Mill Park, VIC)
Cafe Godot – Aktis (Melbourne, VIC)
Cocobei – DKO (Docklands, VIC)
Bentwood Café – Ritz and Ghougassian (Fitzroy, VIC)
Sensory Lab – Studio Esteta (Melbourne, VIC)
Hungry Fox Café – Lukas Partners Interior Architecture & Design (Essendon Fields, VIC)
Project 281 – Splinter Society Architecture (Brunswick, VIC)
Brunetti Flinders Lane – Technē Architecture + Interior Design (Melbourne, VIC)
Willow Urban Retreat – Meme (Armadale, VIC)
Sibling Spice – Studio Y. (Melbourne, VIC)
Lightyears – Zwei Interiors Architecture (Hawthorn East, VIC)
Plain Sailing – Fiona Drago Architect (Elwood, VIC)
Lights in the Attic – Architects EAT (Hawthorn, VIC)
Pierrick Boyer Café Patisserie – Zwei Interiors Architecture (Prahran, VIC)
Junction Eatery – Material Creative (Auckland, NZ)
Bermuda – Collectivus (Joondalup, WA)

The winners will be announced at a themed event, to be held at Melbourne’s Luminare on 13 November. Tickets can be purchased on the Eat Drink Design Awards website.

Each category winner will receive a $1500 cash prize from a total prize pool of $10,500.

For more information, visit:

Send this to a friend