Eat Drink Design Awards announces 2019 nominees

The 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist has been announced, revealing some of Australia’s most exceptionally designed cafés.

Organisers say this year’s selection includes a diverse array of spatial environments found in the most unexpected corners of the country, including homely suburban cafés, country bars, inner-city fine dining restaurants, hotels in the wilderness, shopping centre diners, and airport eateries.

Australia’s reputation as a drinking and dining destination has been helped by the great design happening here. This shortlist is a survey of the exceptional quality and diversity in the design of our region’s hospitality industry,” Jury Chair Cassie Hansen says.

Best Café Design nominees include:

  • Industry Beans York Street – DesignOffice (Sydney, NSW)
  • Saint George Dining – H&E Architects (Chippendale, NSW)
  • Marchetti 545 – Cameron & Co (Brisbane, QLD)
  • Campos Gasworks – SP Studio (Newstead, QLD)
  • Sisterhood – Biasol (Sandy Bay, TAS)
  • Via Porta – Studio Esteta (Mont Albert, VIC)
  • Lobbs Café – Techne Architecture + Interior Design (Brunswick, VIC)
  • Saint Dreux – Arkhe Tekhne (Melbourne, VIC)
  • A Cafe Called John – Terroir Architects (Carlton, VIC)
  • Dagwood Deli – Sans-Arc Studio (Southbank, VIC)
  • ST ALi – Jackson Clements Burrows (Tullamarine, VIC)
  • Veneziano Café – Techne Architecture + Interior Design (Richmond, VIC)
  • Mr Robertson – Maria Danos Architecture (Nunawading, VIC)
  • Monash University Sable Drop Café – Jackson Clements Burrows Architects (Caulfield East, VIC)
  • Hanna’s – Kosloff Architecture (Melbourne Airport, VIC)
  • Rustica Melbourne Central – Bergman & Co (Melbourne, VIC)
  • Newbie – Material Creative (Newmarket, NZ)

Other categories for 2019 include, Best Restaurant Design, Best Bar Design, Best Hotel Design, Best Installation Design, Best Retail Design, and Best Identity Design. One longstanding venue will also be inducted into the Eat Drink Design Awards Hall of Fame.

The Eat Drink Design Awards jury includes industry leaders Besha Rodell, Restaurant Critic at New York Times; Nathan Toleman, CEO and Founder of The Mulberry Group; Graham Charbonneau, Architect and Co-founder at Studio-Gram; Phillip Schemnitz, Architect at Phillip Schemnitz Architects; and Cassie Hansen, Editor of Artichoke.

The awards will be announced at a cocktail event at the Metropolis in Melbourne on 12 November, hosted by chef, restaurateur and television personality Matt Moran.

For more information, visit

Send this to a friend