NZSCA announces Christchurch Regional Barista Championship competitor timeline

NZ regional barista competition

The New Zealand Specialty Coffee Association (NZSCA) is hosting the next regional barista competition on 10 March at C4 Coffee Roasters in Ōtautahi, Christchurch.

Each competitor will compete at the following times:

  • 9.20am Joshua Peacocke, Independent, Christchurch
  • 9:45am Steven Hill, Prima Roastery, Christchurch
  • 10:10am Jordan Herbert, Strictly Coffee Roastery, Dunedin
  • 10:35am Jadon Steven, C4 Coffee Co., Christchurch
  • 11:00am Tanner Hunt, Hummingbird Coffee Roasters, Christchurch
  • 11:25am James Evison, Vivace Espresso, Christchurch
  • 11:50am Joeyn Tan, C4 Coffee Co., Christchurch
  • 12:15pm Bonnie Lam, The Coffee Dojo supported by Flight Coffee, Wanaka
  • 12:40pm Fangfang Shi, Independent, Christchurch

The NZSCA notes the timeline is approximate. Announcements of the top four will take place around 2pm, followed by a debrief for competitors.

Competitors will be required to pour four espresso and four milk beverages. All competitors will receive a full debrief on their performances to set them up for the main event. Participants will have five mins to dial in and 10 mins to present.

The third and final regional barista competition will take place on 17 March at Mojo Fetherston in Te Whanganui a Tara, Wellington.

The Aotearoa New Zealand Barista Championships will take place from 5 to 6 October 2024 at Whirinaki Whare Taonga in Upper Hutt.

For more information on the competition, click here.

Send this to a friend