NZSCA elects David Burton of Jack’s Coffee as new President

NZSCA Recognition Awards 2019

The New Zealand Specialty Coffee Association (NZSCA) has elected a new board at its 2018 Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Queenstown on 25 May. 

Jessica Godfrey will step into the Immediate Past President role, while David Burton of Jack’s Coffee takes over as the new President. 

David has been involved in the NZ coffee industry for more than 35 years, in companies including Quality Packers, Ciro, Burton Hollis, Columbus, Bell Tea and Coffee, and now Jack’s Coffee. He has worked with brands including Old Mill, Tass, Burton Hollis, Gravity, Columbus, Burtons, Jeds, Jack’s and others. David has also judged at regional, national and international barista events.

Tom Handiside of La Marzocco is the Vice President, Roz Cattell of Santos Coffee is Second Vice President, and  Nic McClean of Extra Shot Consultants is Treasurer.

David will allocate the committee responsibilities for the board members, which includes Masako Yamamoto from Atomic Coffee Roasters, John Cole from Mojo Coffee Roasters and Claire Matheson from Coffee Educators. Julia Wild from Meadow Fresh was elected as Allied Representative.

David Green from L’affare will continue to chair the Education committee.

Ryan Mitchell from Suntory steps down as Treasurer, Rachel Berry from The Barista Academy stands down from the Allied Representative role and Ed Tanner from The Sailor’s Son also steps down from the board. The NZSCA thanks them for their work over the last year.

Nico Refiti from Ozone Coffee Roasters continues as the Guild chairperson, a role he took up in December replacing Ria Lingard who remains as a key member of the Guild.

Outgoing President, Jessica, presented four members of the NZSCA with Recognition Awards at the AGM for individuals who drive the industry forward with innovation, inspiration and support. Ongoing Contribution Awards were presented to Geoff Marsland and David Burton, the Development Award was presented to David Green, and Friend of the Association was awarded to Chris Short of Cafetto.

To learn more about the new board members, click here.

In other NZSCA news, entries are now open for the Meadow Fresh New Zealand Latte Art Championship, taking place 29 July at Kōkako Organic Coffee Roasters in Auckland.

For more information on the competition and to enter, click here.

For more information about the NZSCA, visit

Send this to a friend