ASCA goes digital

Australian Specialty Coffee Association (ASCA) President Kieran Westlake says 2020 was a year of challenges, but it provided an opportunity for growth and new ideas.
Read More
ASCA 2020 Nationals plans

ASCA lays out plans for 2020 Nationals

The Australian Specialty Coffee Association (ASCA) has revealed three scenarios under which it could host the 2020 Condesa Co lab Australian Coffee Championships, in a Youtube livestream on 14 July. ASCA President Kieran Westlake discussed the decisions behind these plans, after which Vice-President Bruno Maiolo detailed rules changes affecting judges that would come into effect at the competition.
Read More
2020 Australian Coffee Championships

ASCA announces location of 2020 Australian Coffee Championships

The Australian Specialty Coffee Association (ASCA) Condesa Co Lab 2020 Australian Coffee Championships will take place at Tasting Australia in Adelaide from 27 to 30 March. The event will include the Vitasoy Barista Championship, Pauls Professional Latte Art Championship, Brewers Cup, TCX Cup Tasters Championship, Coffee in Good Spirits Championship, AMC Coffee Roasting Championship preliminary tasting, and Monin Coffee Chain Challenge.
Read More

MICE moves dates to February to accommodate Australian Coffee Championships

The Melbourne International Coffee Expo (MICE) has announced it is changing dates from April to February to accommodate the 2019 Australian Coffee Championships. After MICE confirmed its relocation to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre (MCEC) and April dates in May, a week later World Coffee Events (WCE) established the 2019 World Barista Championship (WBC) and World Brewers Cup (WBrC) would take place mid-April 2019, leaving little time for an Australian competitor to prepare for the world competitions in Boston.  Due the unfortunate timing and MICE’s partnership with the Australian Specialty Coffee Association (ASCA) to host the Australian Coffee Championships each year within the trade expo, the official decision has been made to change the dates to 7 – 9 February, 2019. 
Read More