Winner of 2022 World AeroPress Championship announced

2022 World AeroPress Championship

Sydney barista and former Australian Latte Art Champion Jibbi Little of Jibbijug has won the 2022 World AeroPress Championship (WAC), held from 1 to 3 December in Vancouver, Canada.

Simon Derutter from Belgium won second place, and Jennifer Rui Ping Ho from Singapore won third place.

For her set up, Jibbi used a rinsed AeroPress Classic with a dose of 18.0, and used a Perfect Coffee Water packet to add minerals to the distilled water. She used a Colombia Finca Juan Martin, Natural, Striped Red Bourbon from Quietly Coffee and Cafe Imports.

Jibbi’s winning recipe consisted of pouring coffee into the AeroPress chamber and adding 94 millilitres of water, stirring 35 times gently. At 1:20 minutes, she screwed on the cap and pressed out any remaining air. At 1:30 minutes, Jibbi flipped and pressed for 30 seconds. With about 58 to 64-grams of concentrate, she bypassed 90-degree water to 150-grams, aiming for total dissolved solubles of 1.3 to 1.35 per cent.

After a two-year hiatus and a virtual competition in 2021, the World AeroPress Championship made the triumphant return to in-person events.

The WAC is global coffee-making competition designed to celebrate the world’s best cup of AeroPress coffee. The competition is a multi-round, elimination tournament.

Competitors had five minutes to prepare, brew, and present their coffee to a panel of three judges.

Fifty-six competitors contended in the multi-round elimination tournament, with judges evaluating each coffee and making their own assessment as to which is the best.

For more information and to re-watch the Live Stream, visit the World AeroPress Championship website.

Send this to a friend