World AeroPress Championship to take place 23 June

Fifty-two national AeroPress champions from across the globe will compete for a golden piston and title of 2016 World AeroPress Champion on Thursday 23 June.

The goal of the contest is to identify the brewer of the tastiest cup of coffee, made using the Aerobie AeroPress.

The World AeroPress Championship was first held in 2008 at Tim Wendelboe’s coffeebar in Oslo. There were just three competitors, a token prize, and cake at the end. Eight years later, with events running in more than 50 countries, the World AeroPress Championship is a highly-respected competition on the coffee calendar.

“In 2014, Rimini provided sand between our toes and sun in our eyes. In 2015 Seattle’s weird Starbucks crab lady looked down on us in bewilderment .This year in 2016, Dublin will be host to quite the psychedelic party. From a pool of over 2000 competitors, 52 nation champions will compete. The 2016 World AeroPress Championship will be the most fiercely contested championship to date,” said Event Co-Founder Tim Varney.

Georgina Lumb of Patio Coffee Roasters in Adelaide will represent Australian in the international competition after winning the national title on 17 March.

For the first time Colombia will also have a representative at the World Championship. Juan Sebastian Hernandez, a barista from La Barra Café Cultor in Bogotá won the national competition on 14 May.

WigWam, a former nightclub, will host the the 2016 World AeroPress Championship in Dublin from 6pm. Tim says it will help elevate the championship to the maximum party vibe of: “11” or “over-extracted”.

“Expect shoulder-to-shoulder action on stage, and high exertion on the dance floor,” Tim said.

Judging this year’s championship event will be a pool of 11 international judges.

They include Dan Boobier of Workshop Coffee in London, England; Gilbert Gatali of KZ Noir in Kigali, Rwanda; Amanda Juris of Verve Coffee Roasters in Santa Cruz, California; Robyn Butler of 3FE in Dublin, Ireland; Stephen Vick of Beanstock in Nairobi, Kenya; Jessica Godfrey of ACME & Co. in Wellington, New Zealand; Ari Fasanella of Cafe Imports in Berlin, Germany; Enrico Wurm of La Marzocco in Florence, Italy; Sam Muhirwa of Buf Cafe in Ginkongoro, Rwanda; Anne Lunell of Koppi in Helsingborg, Sweden; and Estelle Bright of La Marzocco in London, England.

Keeping the conversation flowing will be emcees Ben Kaminsky of Shegetz and Katie Carguilo of Counter Culture Coffee.

Just like every other year, the AeroPress Championship will serve free beer, delicious food, official World AeroPress Championship merchandise, lots of laughs and plenty of AeroPressing – all for $14.

Psychedelic fluorescent dress is welcome.

To purchase a ticket to the event click here.

For more information visit

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend